Advisory Board

About the Advisory Board:

The Symantec Government Symposium Advisory Group is made up of senior IT leaders in Federal and State/Local government. The purpose of the group is to provide input on current IT challenges faced by government agencies to help develop the event agenda for the Symposium. The group meets two times per year for discussion.

The Symantec Government Symposium is a multi-sponsored event that is free for government employees. The Symposium is a multi-vendor event and is funded by 20-30 sponsors each year. Past sponsors include Hewlett Packard Corporation, General Dynamics Corporation, NetApp Corporation, WMWare, Amazon Web Services and several other public and private companies. Advisory Board attendees receive no compensation for serving on the group.

Advisory Board Members:

  • Steve Elky, Deputy Director, Information Technology Services, LOC
  • Gary Galloway, Deputy Director, Office of Information Assurance, Dept. of State
  • Wanda Gibson, Director & CTO, Department of Information Technology, Fairfax County
  • Bob Gourley, CTO, Crucial Point, LLC
  • Chuck McGann, Corporate Information Security Officer, USPS
  • Sasi Pillay, CTO for IT, NASA
  • Ron Ross, Senior Computer Scientist and Information Security Researcher, NIST
  • David Stender, Associate CIO for Cybersecurity & CISO, IRS
  • Capt. Michael Weiner, Chief Medical Information Officer, VA/DOD Interagency Office, U.S. Navy
  • Gregory Wilshusen, Director, Information Security, GAO
  • Anil Karmel, Deputy CTO, NNSA
  • Richard Naylor, Chief, Cyber Division at DSS, Department of Defense
  • Elisa Cruz, Chief Information Security Officer, Federal Emergency Management Agency
  • Naeem Musa, Director, Information Security and Systems Assurance Division, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
  • David Furr, Deputy Assistant Director & CTO at NCIS, U.S. Navy


Follow the #symgovsym hashtag on Twitter for latest Symantec Government Symposium news!